richard sloan

BGM 195cc kit vs. Mugello 200cc kit for Series 3 Li 150

I'm very new to anything performance on a Lambretta.   I have a  early 1963 Li 150 Im trying to get to go a bit faster and climb better.

I currently have stock 150 barrel and piston and a 25mm Dellorto carb, running through the air box with an ancillotti exhaust.

Hoping  to climb easier and go a bit faster.  Not looking to go Bezerker. or race.  

Want reliability to be number one priority. Hoping to keep everything I have currently and just add a kit and possibly re-jet current carb ?

I'm far from a good or decent Lambretta mechanic and could use some advice from anyone who has time !  I'm thinking about the two kits above...Mugello 200cc kit   or  BGM 195cc kit ?

Much Appreciated..

Cheers, Rich

Bgm. You will need to rejet, change your intake manifold to 200cc, check your port timings and squish. Electronic ignition and crank replacement are recommended.

Bgm. You will need to rejet, change your intake manifold to 200cc, check your port timings and squish. Electronic ignition and crank replacement are recommended.

Derek,  Thanks for advice.  I have BGM electronic ignition already,  My crank is a newer low mile stock Li crank,    Could I use existing crank and still get good results    I'm from Santa Rosa, nice to see Petaluma representing !  Love riding through West Luma to Stinson Beach.  I live there part time.

Thanks again !   Rich

I like my RT kit. It was easy to setup and makes a good amount of torque.

I just built my first mugello and it wasn't as easy to setup as the RT as I had to match the bottom of the exhaust port with the piston crown at bdc. I have not run it yet but according to Patrick at P-town, they apparently will wallup an RT. I'm curious to try it out but need to get the remaining parts from the painter first.