darbsclt

Charlotte, NC - Series 1

Hi Everyone...

I've never been much of a "blogger," but seeing as I'll be leaning on my fellow LCU members a lot in the up coming months... I thought I'd start a thread about my scoot and it's progress.

Two caveats:

- I'm new to all of this...

- I'll probably say something stupid along the way...

Feel free to coach, advise and steer me in the right direction - that's what I'm humbly looking for.  

About the Scooter...

- '59 Series 1 Li 125

- Supposedly, the head, piston and cylinder have been increased to 175cc

- Electrics upgraded to 12v (I'm not sure what components were used... but the coil is "Watyong")

The bike was said to be restored 15+ years ago.  Taking stock of the components (Chinese carb, Chinese Coil, Viet(?) stand)... the restoration was done on the cheap.  I do believe that the restoration was done in the US, however, as most of the original parts were included with the sale.

My Goals

- Ultimately, I'd like to restore her with new paint and updated (correct) components.  I'd like reliable (read bulletproof) mechanicals and electrics.  I don't need the fastest scooter out there... but I do want one that will accelerate and keep up with traffic at 50 - 55 mph.

Timeline

Immediately...

- Get the scoot running happily and reliably.

- Ride it actively until late October/November

Winter...

- Tear her down and restore her properly.

Spring...

- Bring her out in Late March/April finished.

-----------------------------------------------

1st projects... (future posts)

- Replace Carb, Fuel tap, Center Stand

- Get her running happily

- Make sure brakes, gearbox are operating correctly/safely

20150905_125714.jpg?v=0&p=8&x=1&a=BXHpVK

Additional pictures can be found HERE

My first dilemma...

Carbs...