Professorgearhead

Please offer advice to a newbie on a '65 Spanish Li 150.

Hello from Vancouver, Canada:  I am new to Lambrettas, though I've known about them for years and have been involved in vintage cars and motorcycles for years too.  I presently have a '74 Norton 'Commando', and a '63 V3$p@ 160 GS which I bought from one of your club members here.  He, in fact, suggested I join Lambretta Club USA and post my questions to the membership here.

So I'm chasing a '65 Spanish-made Li 150 (which has apperently been uprated to 170cc).  The original owner bought it in Spain in '65 and the present owner bought it from his widow some five years ago.  It was restored to a reasonable stand some 5 years ago, for which there is a fair amount of paperwork.

The chassis and engine numbers match:  150Li 060544

The Lambretta has sat for the past 5 years and apparently doesn't run.  It'll presumably need the gas tank, and carb fettled--though it is impossible to tell whether it needs other stuff because, as I say, it doesn't run.

The asking price is $2,700 Cdn, which is about $2,400 US.  

How much of a bonus is it that it is 'numbers matching'?  How much of a detraction is it that it is Spanish?  Do the numbers indeed prove it to be a '65?  I'd be grateful for any info anyone has on whether I should proceed with this or not.

Lambretta2_zpsc5e22414.jpg

Lambretta3_zps9f49db12.jpg

Lambretta4_zps489f93ab.jpg[/

URLlambretta1_zps0549e3e1.jpg

• Upvote 2

What i like is the back story. If its true its good. I also like the seat and it looks like the tank was replaced/serviced which can be good.

What i dont like is that crease/bend in the right side of the legsheild.

Maybe its just the camera.

It is not necessarily a deal breaker though.

At $2500US I'd be happy.

Servetas are superior. Ask anyone and they'll tell you. If they say anything else they're a loser.

• Upvote 1